Music of the Week!

I can’t tell you about the first time I heard Simon and Garfunkel’s song, The Sound of Silence but I can tell you I fell in love with it. It’s one of those songs that tightens your throat and stings your eyes, a song that reaches deep and touches your soul. I even incorporated into one of the novels I’m writing. It seems that it was only months after writing it into the novel that Disturbed came out with their version and I’ll be honest, I curled my lip at it. The words were the same, and instead of stinging my eyes it rose goosebumps on my arms, it had a different vibe and at first, I didn’t like that. That first time I didn’t listen to the entire thing, I changed the radio station with a headshake. I want to say Disturbed’s version fully hit me the third time I listened to it, truly listened to it.

It seems that it was only months after writing it into the novel that Disturbed came out with their version and I’ll be honest, I curled my lip at it. The words were the same, and instead of stinging my eyes it rose goosebumps on my arms, it had a different vibe and at first, I didn’t like that. That first time I didn’t listen to the entire thing, I changed the radio station with a headshake. I want to say Disturbed’s version fully hit me the third time I listened to it because I truly listened to it. It was the same lyrics but somehow the meaning had changed. It had become darker, more forboding and I realized it merely represented the day and age we are in. So yes, in the end, I fell in love with it and I switch back and forth between the two versions now, glad that Disturbed was able to bring something deep from the past and make it just as deep in the present.

Leave a Reply

