Damsel’s Discovery

Staying positive in a negative (sinful ) world is not easy, as I am only human. I rely heavily on my faith to be positive on most days, and I admit this so that other people realize we are all human. When Christians only put their positivity out there and don’t show their human side, their mistakes, I believe this deters others. It makes non-believers either fear or resent them, which will not lead them, the non-believers, to the truth.

Here I am, exposed to show non-believers that I am human.

  • I get angry, and not just at the big things like injustice.
    • Cut me off in traffic and unless I am really focusing on being a good Christian that day you’re not going to hear, “Bless you.” come out of my mouth.
  • I’m judgemental.
    • If I see someone dressed like a hoodlum I don’t automatically think they are a nice person, I often have to remind myself not to judge a book by its cover.
  • I think of revenge.
    • My first gut instinct when someone insults me is to insult them back, and if I’m in a bad mood it flows from my mouth like the air I breathe out.
  • I ignore.
    • I don’t stop and give the homeless money or food every time I see them,  more often than not I refuse to look their way.
  • I’m selfish.
    • There are many times when I haven’t done things simply because it won’t benefit me.

If you claim to not be this “human” then you are lying to yourself, period. It takes a constant awareness to not be this way and my belief is that you will never truly accomplish this and you’ll never be happy about striving for it, without God’s help.

You see, we are all human but being a Christian gives us this goal, this standard to live by. We are to strive to be Christ-like. Will we ever be? No, but what matters is that we strive to be. Christ gave us two major commandments and if we try every day to follow those commandments, all of the faults of us being human, begin to fade.

Matthew 22:36-39

 (NIV)

36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Over time and with prayer, it gets easier but your sinful nature will never fully fade which is okay because you have your whole life to continue to work on it.

Leave a Reply

