Blessed are…

Matthew 5:10

Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

This verse is simple but I don’t feel it’s only talking about those who have died for the Word of God. As a matter of fact it doesn’t even say that, although if someone becomes a martyr then they certainly have died for righteousness’ sake. This is actually covered in the next verse. However there are others who die for righteousness sake. Military, police and firefighters to name a few.

I believe this verse, like so many other’s aren’t talking about the physical realm more than they are talking about matters of the heart.

I am instantly reminded of 1 Corinthians chapter 13. (KJV)

Verse 1: Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity (love), I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling symbol.

Verse 2: And thought I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries , and all knowledge; and though have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity (love), I am nothing..

Verse 3: And though I bestow all my good to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity (love), it profits me nothing.

For King and Country has a beautiful rendition of this verse in their song Proof of your Love.

One doesn’t have to die for righteousness sake to reap the benefit of this verse. They simply have to be willing to… because they love.

Jesus even says this in John 15:13, “Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”

I believe he’s talking about fellow men(humans) more than just friends.

And the benefit? “For theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.”

To me this is much like being given “The Key to the City.” in medieval times, when it actually meant something. Except I don’t think you can just leave heaven, nor would you ever want to.

What a reward!

To have free reign of Heaven!

Indescribable!

I hope this inspires you to pray for God to help you in your journey in becoming more Christ like, and I pray everyone has a blessed week.

 

KandyMay Poff

 

Leave a Reply

