Jesus, A New Series.

I will not promise to post every day simply because every time I do make a “commitment” to post something every day I fall short. How, as my readers, will you trust me if I continually break that trust? Even if it’s done unintentional. What I will promise is that I will try hard to post everyday for this new study.

 

Introduction: Where I Stand. you have read any of my prior belief posts you know that I don’t follow or “believe” the norm of the American Christians. I have come by my beliefs through study and life experiences. As with all learning, my opinions and beliefs have changed and evolved over the years, to me this is called progress.

Let me start this series by explaining a couple of my beliefs that vary from other Christians.

  1. Everything in the Bible needs to be followed to a T.

No, the only thing that needs to be followed to a T is Jesus’ words.

I follow Jesus’ words and only consider the other works in the bible.

Even some of Paul’s writing is erroneous, not because he was wrong or deceiving but because he was human. (Though some of it may be the translation that erred and not him.)

There are many things that Paul writes that are very obvious they are from his own personal beliefs due to the time he lived in. Eg. Women’s heads should always be covered and never shaved, (1Corinthians 11:5) Men should never have long hair, (1Corinthians 11:14). There a lot of little things like this and I could go on and on as to my reasons but I won’t, for now.

2. Gay people are going to hell.

I’m pretty sure I have read this NOWHERE.

Yes in the Old Testament it says that the act of men lying with men is an abomination. ( Leviticus 18:22) It also states that if you eat the left overs of a peace offering on the third day, this is an abomination. (Leviticus 19:7). Oh and my favorite,  eating filthy animals is an abomination, I eat bacon, and I’m 100% positive that I’m not going to hell for that. (Leviticus 11:7)

Humans may be this petty but God is not.

God laid these laws and statues down to protect the people of the time not to condemn them to hell the instant they disobey.

In the days of Moses, that is exactly what these laws were doing.

Think about their hygiene practices

Think about the fact that they had no refrigeration

Think about how deadly pork can be if cooked and prepared improperly.

These Old Testament laws were put in place until Jesus’ died on the cross.

“It is Finished.” (John 19:30) Jesus’ was talking about more than just His life here.

These are only a few disagreements I have with other American Christians.

 

Those who hold riots and show bigotry are doing nothing but pushing people farther and farther from God’s love.

It is not your right or place to judge…ever. Matthew 7:1-5, Luke 6:37-42, and my favorite… John 8:1-11..please if you look nothing up but this one verse it tells everything. A women caught in the act of adultery(controversial here) and Jesus looks at her accusers and tells them.. “he who is without sin, cast the first stone.” He didn’t say, he who has never committed THIS sin or a sin equal to this sin, because sin is sin is sin. I will be covering this parable in more detail later.

Back to judgement. Not judging others does not mean being a doormat. This is where there is a lot of confusion, walking away from someone who is a bad influence on your life is not necessarily judging them. Tearing them down is.

A quick example… no offense to any Bob’s that read this, it’s just a name.

The wrong way

Bob  lives an unwholesome life (use your own idea of what is unwholesome here). You start hanging out with Bob in hopes to bring him to Jesus. In a year you find yourself living an unwholesome life, maybe to a lesser degree than Bob but still you have slipped in your attempt to help Bob. Angry at yourself for slipping up you cuss Bob out and tell him what a loser he is and how everything is his fault. Then you never talk to him again.

Bob thinks, “Wow, if this is what a Christian acts I want no part of it.”

The right way

Bob  lives an unwholesome life (use your own idea of what is unwholesome here). You start hanging out with Bob to help him see the light. In a year you find yourself living an unwholesome life, maybe to a lesser degree than Bob but still you have slipped in your attempt to help Bob. It’s time to walk away. Pray for Bob, and give him a respectful conversation as to why you are choosing to no longer hang out with him. If you are strong enough to do so, offer him other activities outside his unwholesome lifestyle to keep in touch with you but you must pull yourself back and you must stick with your ideals.

Bob’s reaction may vary but if you have explained respectfully you have done right. Whether he chooses to pursue your friendship is now up to him

There you have a quick summary of my beliefs. If you don’t agree that’s okay. God gave us free will so we could explore His truths and I believe He reveals them to different people at different times, when they are ready for them.

Now on to Jesus….

Leave a Reply

